It’s not very often that you see a base runner hurdle a catcher trying to touch home plate…except for this weekend when it happened twice!
There is a lot to be learned from these two videos. In one of them the catcher executes it perfectly and gets the runner out, and in the other one the runner scores because the catcher doesn’t “finish the play.”
What did the Xavier catcher do wrong? He gave up on the play before it was over. The umpire hadn’t signaled that the runner was safe or out and he made no attempt to go back and tag him…big mistake!
This video shows the exact opposite. The Arkansas catcher does a great job and never gives up!
The lesson to be learned here is that the play isn’t over until the umpire makes a call. If he signals safe, that means the runner touched home plate and scored. If he signals out, that means that you successfully tagged him out before he scored a run. If no call is made it means that no tag was applied and the runner didn’t touch home plate.